Home > Books > Debt, Banking And The Post-human…

Debt, Banking And The Post-human…

 

Neptune’s Brood by Charles Stross, pretty good. But there were parts of it where my eyes glazed over. Such as when Krina Alizond-114 (Great name, by the way) went on and on about debt and banking systems. Yes, I get what the author was getting at and how such things must be linked into interstellar colony ventures. But seemed every ‘culture’ was basically only a ledger.

Not a book if you are into ‘action’. As I indicated, everything is filtered through a notion of debt and banking.

Also his version of Post-humanity, pretty interesting. Though I am not sure I needed to know the mechanics of every single little thing. Just show me it working…

This is also a good example of, just becuse its ‘hard‘ it does not therefore follow, it is must be good, or at least great science fiction.

A book that could have been a better read had it been a tad bit more pulp-y…

It probably does not seem it, but I liked this book.

Yes, that’s a mermaid on the cover.

Categories: Books Tags: , ,
  1. September 29, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    I love the cover. It intrigues me. Makes me want to read the book.

    • September 29, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      I just thought it was interesting there’s a mermaid on it. Which makes perfect sense in the story context.

  1. February 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

