Home > Books, Ebooks, Reading > I Went To Read A Paperback And…

I Went To Read A Paperback And…

A stack of generic mass-market paperback books.

A stack of generic mass-market paperback books. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to read a paperback last night and after reading ebooks lately it felt really awkward and clumsy.  Has anyone else had that experience? The whole feel of it just was off, and not enjoyable. I’d guess this is the exact inverse of what those addicted to paper books assume will be their experience reading on an ereader.

  1. March 27, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I lean more toward the paperback, but I also lean a bit toward the e-reader for convenience because it’s not good to carry a whole suitcase of books on a plane or car trip. But I do like sitting in bed reading a paperback book – just finished Crescent Dawn by Clive Cussler. I don’t know, there’s something about picking up a book and reading it, especially when it comes to very old books. Who held it last? What were they like? These are the questions I ask myself when I go to my bookshelves and pick up one of my books from the early 1800′s. You can’t get that kind of feeling from picking up a computer. :-)

    • Rodney C. Johnson
      March 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      It could be, I got so used to holding the ereader, that an actual paperback felt out of place to me in my hands. I just thought it was a different experience have had.

  2. March 28, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    It depends on the book. Some I would rather have in hard copy and others I like reading as ebooks. But my all time favorite way to enjoy anything without pictures is audio books!

    • Rodney C. Johnson
      March 28, 2012 at 8:12 pm

      Oddly, I just can’t get into audio books. I think its just me. Many friends have prompted me to make an audio book.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

